A journey into a collection of 19th and early 20th century American football memorabilia.
Monday, August 3, 2015
NY Giants vs. Hominy Indians 1931 Program
Look back at our August 14, 2013 posting where you can read about the Hominy Indians winning out in an exhibition game over the 1927 World Champion New York Giants (a post-season barnstorming game of sorts, the Giants were comprised of the nucleus of the team bolstered by a number of ringers, according to our friend Art Shoemaker). Four years later in a pre-season exhibition game the Giants beat the Hominy Indians (who were having tough times, reflected by their losing record), payback for their embarrassing loss in 1927, this time by the lopsided score of 54 – 0. We have scanned the cover and roster pages from this exceedingly rare 1931 program. The Giants' roster reads like a who's-who with names like Badgro, Owen, Hein, Cagle, etc.
Monday, June 15, 2015
Association Football Themed Flask C. 1880s
Diminutive 4 ¾” x 2 ½” glass flask with a silver plated detachable
base cup. We like early sports related flasks (see September 28, 2014 post) and
this one features an Association football which we have not seen before. The
handshake design below the football may indicate membership in a fraternal
organization. The flask has some great
air bubble inclusions adding to its character.
Saturday, June 13, 2015
St. Nicholas Hockey Club Jersey c.1916 / Hobey Baker / Theodore Conklin
As football enthusiasts we are all aware of the aura around and
exploits of Hobey Baker. Jacob and I
have several really unusual football related photographs that include Baker
that we plan to include as part of this post, but for now, since I have on occasion
exposed my hockey alter ego, I once again diverge slightly.
The pictured hockey jersey is a game worn St. Nicholas
Hockey Club jersey dating from the very few years that Hobey Baker played on that team. It
is the only such jersey that we know of from this club and era that has come to
light. The Alex Taylor label puts this jersey at no earlier than 1914, the
company moving to the 26 E. 42nd St. address during that year. The
label address and the distinctive style and variations with the stripe and St.
Nicholas lettering put this jersey squarely in the timeframe of Hobey
Baker, specifically the 1915-1916 or 1916-1917 time period, but probably not
the 1914-1915 season. The back of the St. Nicks jersey has a sewn on number "2" that we originally thought may have been added later, but it may in fact be period, as we see in an International News Photo (copy of photo and close-up pictured) dating from the 1915/1916 time period a posed Hobey Baker in a St. Nicks jersey with a number on the back of his jersey. This photo was taken at a time in hockey when numbers were just beginning to be worn on the back of their jerseys and would have been added after the jersey was manufactured (a few years after numbered armbands and numbers on the fronts of jerseys were utilized).
In fact in 1915 wearing a number was becoming more frequent and was
required in championship games under the Championship Rules of the American
Amateur hockey League. The players of
each club shall be numbered, shall wear their numbers on the back of the jersey
or sweater and as far as possible, shall retain the same numbers throughout a
championship series.
This jersey has made it through a century and was
of significance to someone who took great care to pass it down. Won't it be fascinating to determine who wore this jersey. After all, it was on the ice at the same time as Hobey Baker...
Jacob and I have acquired the
matching St. Nicholas hockey pants/leggings that were split off as a separate
lot from the jersey at the auction we had bought the jersey at. We did not
know of their existence at the time due to the item description. It is fortunate from a research
perspective that they have the original name tag of the owner sewn into them: Theodore
B. Conklin Jr., who was a teammate of Baker’s on the St. Nicholas team. Rosters
in 1916 and early 1917 have Conklin as Point (for example see NYT, February
18, 1917 article titled "St. Nicholas Stars Lose: Hobey Baker Unable to Stave Off 2 to 1 Defeat by Boston H.C." (one month before Baker’s last game for St. Nicholas)). This information was added to the blog on 02OCT17.
Baker, after graduating from Princeton (where he was known
for excelling in both football and hockey) started playing for the St. Nicholas
Hockey Club in 1914 and played for them during the 1914-1915 and 1915-1916
seasons. In 1916 Baker took up residence in Philadelphia and from November 1916
into 1917 Baker represented St. Nicks in their exhibition play. His last game
representing St. Nicholas was in March of 1917, the St. Nicks vs. the Aura Lee
team of Toronto (Ontario Hockey Association).
The final hockey game he played in was on March 24, 1917
when he played in an amateur All Star exhibition game which basically pitted
Pittsburg against Philadelphia, played at the Winter Garden. Philadelphia won.
WWl came and went and Hobey Baker had played in his last
hockey game.

Close up photo of the jersey – note: photo is printed in
reverse
Potential search terms: St. Nicholas hockey club jersey , St. Nicholas hockey club , antique hockey jersey , Hobey Baker jersey , Hobey Baker hockey jersey
The H.F.B.C. and the Foundations of Football: Beginnings of a Game : 1873 Membership Shingle
The Harvard University Foot-Ball Club was formed in
December of 1872.
In its first
full year (1873), membership certificates for this club were issued. Morton Prince,
player and secretary for the HUFBC, designed and had made these certificates as
well as a seal for this organization. The seal, made by Henry Mitchell (master
engraver of Boston), features a round football, a motto of “Semper Surgens”,
and the letters H.F.B.C. (see photo). Pictured is one of the earliest football
documents in existence.
Morton Prince also authored a section of the H Book of
Harvard Athletics (1923) entitled “History of Football at Harvard, 1800 – 1875
(June)” (pgs. 311 – 371), and he is considered the preeminent early Harvard
football historian. This exact certificate is reproduced on pg. 351 of the H
Book, as part of Prince’s work.
Morton
Prince’s 1873 Harvard University Foot-Ball Club Certificate (or “Shingle”)
The Shingle
The membership certificate was referred to as a
“shingle” and required a one-dollar fee to purchase. This membership allowed
for support of the organization and for members to play football recreationally
as part of the club.
Interestingly, this shingle is the only example that
would have been completed and signed by the team captain. It is signed by the football
team’s captain, Henry R. Grant, as Morton Prince “did not wish to sign, as
secretary, on his own shingle”, according to his accounting in the H Book of Harvard
Athletics. This certificate remained one of Prince’s prized possessions
throughout his life.
Harvard Rejects Yale’s Request
In October of 1873, Yale contacted Columbia, Harvard,
Rutgers, and Princeton, proposing to establish an intercollegiate football
association with a standard set of rules. Many from Harvard felt uneasy about
Yale’s proposal. For example, the Harvard Advocate wrote on October 17, 1873: “If
we should attend such a convention, as Yale proposes we should naturally feel
bound to agree to the code of rules favored by the majority of the committee.
It is evident that the result could not fail to be unsatisfactory to the
football players at Harvard”. What was termed the “Boston game” was equivalent
to the Harvard Game in 1873, in which “a player was permitted to pick up the
ball, run with it, throw it, or pass it. He could also seize and hold an
adversary to prevent him from getting the ball”. In contrast, the games
played by the other four schools were essentially “all foot work” during this
time. Given the drastic changes they
would have needed to implement into their game, is quite understandable why
Harvard might have viewed Yale’s request with apprehension.
Upon receipt of Yale’s letter by the HUBFC, a meeting
was held by the officers of this football club (headed up by Captain Grant and
Secretary Prince) and other members of this organization. It was at this
meeting that Captain Grant and the rest of the team decided to reject Yale’s proposal
to form an intercollegiate football association. In a letter from Grant to the
secretary of the Yale Football Association, he explained the differences in the
style of games Harvard played from the other institutions and, some say, tactfully
belittled the others’ style of play. In his reply to Yale, Captain Grant states,
“The feeling in the college was unanimous in maintaining our rules at the
expense of matches with other colleges”. Harvard thus did not join the
intercollegiate football association, and the path of American Football was
forever changed.
Harvard plays McGill
In early 1874, Captain Gant received an unexpected
letter from David Roger, captain of the of McGill University team in Canada,
suggesting the schools play several matches against one another. Harvard’s Grant
and Prince were the two key Harvard team members to work out the games’
specifics and the rules under which they would be played. The games needed to be played in Cambridge, as
the Harvard administration would not allow the team to travel during the school
year while classes were in session.
Two matches were scheduled for the 14th and
15th of May, 1874, at Jarvis Field in Cambridge. The first was played
under Harvard rules, and the second under McGill’s rugby regulations. The
McGill players showed up in uniform (the first time this had been seen by
Harvard players) and the Harvard players, although not in their normal “oldest
clothes”, appeared in white undershirts, dark pants, and magenta handkerchiefs
on their heads. Still, the Harvard players were a bit embarrassed. They won the game by a score of 3-to-0, and
fought to a 0-to-0 tie the following afternoon. This second match is considered
the first intercollegiate rugby game to take place in America.
In each of these two games, the teams played with
eleven men per side. The “Boston game” allowed for between ten and fifteen per
side, although they were normally referred to as “the eleven”. McGill was accustomed
to playing with any number between ten and twenty. Originally, the matches were
to be played with fifteen men, however only eleven men were able to make the
trip from Montreal.
In the famous composite photograph from the Harvard
vs. McGill 1874 fall contest, when Harvard travelled to Montreal, Morton Prince
is easily recognizable. I have him circled in the photograph. I have also
included a photograph of the Harvard’s spring 1874 foot-ball team, inclusive of
Captain Grant. In the fall of 1874, Arthur Ellis assumed the position of
Captain.
Harvard vs. McGill, Fall of 1874.
Morton Prince is circled.
Harvard University Foot-Ball Club Captain
Henry Grant is seated at center
This certificate, or shingle, is an extraordinary
example of football documentation from the absolute earliest days of football. Certainly the most significant early American football document that we are aware of. It stems from two of the most pivotal players from an historic and crucial
phase of the game. Harvard’s
rejection of the style of play that constituted association football in 1873 and its subsequent adoption of the rugby game
as a result of the Harvard games against McGill in 1874 are the only reason we
have football today as we know it and not a game than more closely resembles
soccer. In the words of Morton Prince,
“If Harvard had not refused (to join the Association …) it is highly probable
that the modern game played today – like American Rugby – would ever have been
evolved. Instead, all the Universities, colleges and schools today would be
playing Association rules, - practically soccer”. After playing McGill, Harvard
adopted their rugby game, considering it a worthy extension, even a superior replacement,
for its own brand of football.
In 1876, the Intercollegiate Football
Association was formed by Harvard, Columbia and Princeton using slightly
modified rugby rules. The rest quickly fell into place and, as is stated so
often, the rest is history.
Wednesday, April 29, 2015
1891 Williston Football / Amos Alonzo Stagg
1891 Williston Football Team
Amos Alonzo Stagg’s first paid coaching position was at
Williston Seminary, a Preparatory school in Easthampton Massachusetts where he
coached both football and baseball in 1890 and 1891. Stagg was also Williston’s
first non-playing coach. His coaching was limited to one day a week at
Williston due to travel time from Springfield to Easthampton as well as demands
on his time at the YMCA. He coached at
Williston while simultaneously coaching at the International YMCA College in
Springfield.
This 1891 team was accused, justifiably, for having employed
“ringers” or “emergency men” to play for them. As it so happens this was not an
isolated or even necessarily a rare occurrence at the time and was not limited
to one sport or one prep or boarding school or to one rivalry.
A rival boarding school, Suffield School (Suffield Literary
Institution) had lost a game to Williston in October of 1891 after a ringer was
brought into the game and significantly ran up the score. This player by the
name of Bond, who was not an enrolled student, was never to be heard from
again. A quote from a Suffield School editorial at that time regarding the game,
and hopefully, a rematch, stated with pride that they would once again play
against Williston "as formerly, with our own men”.
I had initially believed this photo to be Williams College as
there are individuals who played for Williams in this photo. Recently however, we
also found a player on the Amherst football team of 1892 who is in this photo. The
riddle was solved by Jacob, utilizing the Williston archives, where the
identical photo can be seen. Players after graduation went directly from
Williston to play for college or university teams.
Early football photos with African Americans are quite difficult
to come by, particularly pre 1900, and this is certainly one of the earliest that we have seen. Williston was integrated by the 1870s and African
Americans were members of the athletic teams by the 1880s.
This near mint albumin measures 13 3/8” x 10 1/8”.
Saturday, April 18, 2015
Fielding Yost / Ohio Wesleyan / 1897 / Part l
Best known for his coaching years at Michigan (1901-1923,
1925-1926), Fielding Yost got his start coaching Ohio Wesleyan in 1897. This
first coaching position lasted for one year which was the beginning of a journey
through six schools, the last of which was Michigan. This original rare photo is
from that first coaching job and has the names of the coach and players as well
as the schedule and scores attached to the photo which is mounted on a mat that
proclaims “Ohio Conference Champions”.
Notes:
The player standing behind and to the right of Fielding Yost in the photograph is his slightly younger brother, Ellis Yost.
Back row, middle is Charles Lloyd Barney. He played professional football for the Latrobe Athletic Association and later for the Pittsburg Stars in 1902, their one year in existence. Barney was also well known as a strongman , lifting horses, pianos and the like.
Notes:
The player standing behind and to the right of Fielding Yost in the photograph is his slightly younger brother, Ellis Yost.
Back row, middle is Charles Lloyd Barney. He played professional football for the Latrobe Athletic Association and later for the Pittsburg Stars in 1902, their one year in existence. Barney was also well known as a strongman , lifting horses, pianos and the like.
Nice early piece of Yost memorabilia.
1890 Harvard Football Team Albumin
Period albumin of the 1890 Harvard varsity football team.
This team was unbeaten and untied, scoring 555 points while holding its
opponents to 12. This included a 12 to 6 win over Yale, only the second win
over the Elis since 1875.
The photo includes five All-Americans, including four-time
All-American Marshall “Ma” Newell (seated between the two H sweaters), John
Cranston, Dudley Dean, John Corbett and Frank Hallowell. Trafford and Lee were
named to the second All-American team.
Everett Lake, ex WPI is to the far right (see November 5,
2013 blog posting).
Original frame and mat, 13 x 19 ½ sight. Pach Bros. photo.
Subscribe to:
Posts (Atom)





















